Notice letter

I need to draft my notice letter. I really don’t want to tell them that I’m taking the bar again, so I need to figure out another excuse. Here’s the list I have so far:

1) I have an inoperable brain tumor.
2) I’m pregnant. (But I’m not about to tempt fate by using that one since I really don’t want a baby for a looooong time!)
3) I’ve contracted tuberculosis from that TB guy Andrew Speaker and must go into federal quarantine.
4) I cite the catchphrase “circumstances beyond my control” and refuse to elaborate if questioned.
5) …

Obviously I didn’t get very far on that list. I suppose I’ll keep the letter short and sweet, and hope they don’t question me about the bar. They still haven’t asked me if I’m going to retake it. I don’t know what I’ll do or say if they ask me if I’m leaving early to take the bar.

7 thoughts on “Notice letter

  1. Blawgin'

    Other possible reasons:
    – You’re moving!
    – You’re going back to school!
    – You’re ill, or someone close to you is ill. I hesitate to use this though because it always feels like karma might bite me in the ass!

    In the end, just write a letter that states something professional (which is SO much easier than having to say something face to face!) and remain vague, like it’s personal. I’ve been there, and hemmed and hawed forever. But once you’re outta there, you won’t think twice about it! Good luck!

    Reply
  2. cyberjanitor

    – You’re devoting yourself to prime time game shows and will moving to Hollywood to become contests for such hits as “1 vs 100,” “Deal or No Deal,” and “National Bingo Night.”

    Reply
  3. Frustrated Bar Examinee

    Great suggestions! I like the idea about being vague. I will probably go that route and hope they don’t question me further.

    Cyberjanitor, I actually harbor a desire to be on “Amazing Race”. That would be a really good excuse!

    Reply
  4. Blonde Blogger

    Here is the best reason yet:

    You are leaving the legal field as you have been chosen to be The Next Pussycat Doll!!

    Just kiddin’…;-) I find when I am trying to say something without really saying something, less is more. The moving thing is a really good angle – it’s true and people won’t question it, especially if the move is beyond your control.

    And for the love of God, woman, please tell me that your new home state is NOT California!?!?!? Not that we wouldn’t love you here, cuz we would, but this is clearly NOT the place to practice law!!!

    Reply
  5. Frustrated Bar Examinee

    No way would I set foot in California! I used to live in California courtesy of the Air Force and loved it, and no offense to all CA bar takers, but I’d rather be buried alive than take the CA bar exam! We’re actually moving to the great Northwest! Can’t wait… I’m never living on the East coast ever again! I miss being out West.

    Reply
  6. calbar blondie

    Question: Are you planning on taking the new home state’s bar exam once you pass Colorado(this time?) Then maybe you can waive your mbe score in. Many states allow you to do that, as far as I know.

    Reply
  7. Frustrated Bar Examinee

    Calbar Blondie, I wish! Unfortunately my new home state doesn’t allow MBE score transfers. I don’t know if I would take that state’s bar exam. My new job is also a one-year position and I’d have to see what happens there, but I reeeeeaaaally don’t want to take another bar exam ever again if I can help it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

