Appendectomy

I just found out that one of my close friends SR has a ruptured appendix and is about to undergo an emergency appendectomy. I just talked to her half an hour ago while she was waiting for her ride to the hospital.

At first I was freaked out because of course I’m very worried about her, but now I can’t help pondering how convenient it would be to have a ruptured appendix myself. I’m not kidding, think about it. I’d have a surefire excuse for not having to go to work anymore, plus think of all that extra time I’d have to study for the bar. I even googled how long the recovery period from an appendectomy is, and apparently it’s a few days to a few weeks depending on the severity of the ruptured appendix. I could totally study a lot more if I was confined to bed like that.

I’m so jealous of SR right now. God, I’m pathetic.

8 thoughts on “Appendectomy

  1. Blawgin'

    I had a dream that I was sentenced to 3 months in jail and I was happy because I could just get away from it all. Even knowing that one is pathetic and depressed because of the bar is not enough to lift the cloud!

    How’s the work situation?

    Reply
  2. Frustrated Bar Examinee

    Work situation is getting better. One of the bosses finally talked to me today, but about work matters and not a word about my notice. Supervisor seems to have accepted the fact that I’m leaving. I still have my evaluation meeting tomorrow, then I should be in the clear.

    It’s crazy how I’ve been thinking of ways to get out of the bar lately, especially this one.

    Reply
  3. Blonde Blogger

    Did you guys see the episode of Grey’s Anatomy where the girl who had failed the bar exam multiple times cuts her finger off or something like that right before the bar exam so she didn’t have to take it again?!?!!!?

    Tragically, at the time, I thought that was a great idea!!!

    Of course, she ended up getting some horrific infection of something, and if I remember correctly, she died!!! What a way to get out the taking the bar!!!

    Reply
  4. Blawgin'

    I vividly remember that episode! She burns her right hand on purpose so she can’t take the bar! Cause she took it like a million times! Everyone else was in laughing disbelief over that episode, and I remember feeling a numbing sense of horror, because I could TOTALLY identify with her. As I recall, this was just before results came out, and I remember thinking, “These sick bastards.”

    Reply
  5. Alexis

    Jimmy Kimmel just had an emergency appendectomy yesterday. It must be the season, i wish your friend all the best.

    Blawgin the dreams started for me yesterday….

    Reply
  6. Frustrated Bar Examinee

    Yes, I remember that Grey’s Anatomy episode! I was even yelling at the TV when they kept mentioning how her bar exam was “on Friday”. I know it’s just TV but I still got annoyed that they screwed up the days of the bar exam.

    If I remember correctly, she didn’t die but instead got hauled off to the mental ward. So much for her character and fitness check right??

    Reply

Leave a Reply

