My scores

My scores finally arrived in the mail today. Here goes:

MBE – 139
(129 in July 2006, 119 in February 2007)

Essays/PT – 156
(141 in July 2006, 151 in February 2007)

I raised my old score by 25 points for a total score of 295, 19 points above the passing score of 276. I’m glad to learn that I passed by a good margin, and didn’t scrape by with only 1 point above the passing score or something.

Now I can write a post about my MBE study strategy although 139 isn’t exactly earthshattering, especially if one of my readers got a 152 on the MBE and still failed the Colorado Bar Exam (unbelievable, by the way). It’ll be a long post, so it may take me awhile.

15 thoughts on “My scores

  1. cyberj

    For some reason, I can’t find my old scores. I think I failed by 18 points or something before. I didn’t pass by one point but I didn’t pass by as many as I suspected I would either. Oh well, a pass is a pass and that is all that matters. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  2. Frustrated Bar Examinee

    Did you do better on the essays/PT or on the MBE this time around? You’re right that scores don’t matter as long as we passed though!

    Reply
  3. last call at the bar

    Freaky. I think I got the _exact_ same MBE scores in July 2006 and Feb 07. Interesting how yours jumped around by 10s.

    Reply
  4. cyberj

    I improved my MBE by a couple of points and my essays by about 25 points. I’m working from memory but I think I remember correctly.

    I’d like to review my successful attempt, but, since it’s mutually exclusive, I’ll taking passing instead! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  5. The Grand Poobah

    I just checked in for the first time in quite a while and was VERY HAPPY to see the news! Congratulations! Hard work does indeed pay off!

    Well done!

    Now go sue somebody! (;-)>

    Reply
  6. blawgirl

    FBE, I got a 143 on my MBE and a 155 on my essays (298 total). I wasn’t worried about writing essays at first. I focused a lot on my MBE prep because I got a whopping 99 raw on my practice MBE with Bar/Bri. Scared the crap out of me. About two weeks before the exam I started to freak about the essays, so I went through every essay in the Bar/Bri book and made flash cards out of what they tested on the check list. That saved me. Had I not done that – I likely would have failed miserably. Congrats again.

    Reply
  7. nappy

    Blawgirl, I did the same basically the same thing for the essays. Two weeks before the exam after every subject studied, I would outline 2-3 essays. However, I paid close attention to checklist to see what they were looking for. I ended up with a 152 on the essays. MBE, I got a 157. I have no clue how??? But I used PMBR, timed myself, and did roughly 25-a-day 6-days-a-week. MPT, I also have no clue how I did well on since I felt I bombed one of them. Hope this may help future takers.

    Reply
  8. Anonymous

    I’m glad to see you can raise your MBE 10 points . . . that’s what I need. I look forward to your post. –ess in colo

    Reply
  9. Anonymous

    Hey just thought I’d let you know I passed the TN. bar. I was the guy who posted earlier about sitting concurrently and failing CO. At least I can start my career.

    Reply
  10. Anonymous

    Please do not forget to let us know about your stragegy; those who failed (myself included) are looking forward to it. Cheers,

    John

    Reply
  11. Frustrated Bar Examinee

    Thanks everyone for the kind comments! Congratulations to those of you who passed (especially CO/TN guy – what a relief!).

    To those of you in CA, NY, and NJ – I’m still holding my breath for your results!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

