Busy as a bee

I’ve been really busy at work, and also studying whenever possible, but my motivation has been flagging lately. I have a ton of e-mails that I need to answer, and hopefully I can do that this weekend. Thank god for MBE software, I love being able to sit my ass on the couch running through MBE practice questions on my laptop and typing explanations in my Google documents. No matter how tired I am, it’s much easier being able to study on my laptop instead of having to lug out the books and sit at a table. I still haven’t gone through the S&T book yet, but I hope to do so very shortly. Hopefully tomorrow. In the meanwhile, I feel brain dead. At least things should be slowing down next week. I can’t wait. I seriously need a break. I haven’t taken a single day off since I started working at this job four months ago, and I think I’m getting burned out. I’m taking a couple of days off and going home over the holiday weekend in January, so I’m looking forward to that.

I know I said I wasn’t going to waste any more leave than necessary on the bar exam, but I’m going to take the week before the bar exam off in February to study. I might take more time off, depending on how much leave I have available. I know myself too well, and I know I will get extremely stressed out if I try to work (and study at work) right up until the bar exam, quite possibly self-inducing a nervous breakdown, so I’m taking more time off than planned. Plus I’m not taking any bar exams ever again after February 2008 if I can help it. I can’t tell you how much it sucks to have to take the bar exam again after I’ve already passed it, but at least I can fall back on that license and hopefully land a federal attorney job.

I completed my state essay topic outlines and also printed out my MBE outlines from before, and I’ve printed out all the released essays I could get my hands on. I have 2 binders, one for the outlines and one for the released essays so I can practice writing essays. So all that appears to be left is practice, practice, and practice. That and reading the S&T book. I suppose my strategy is rather simple.

I hope everyone is making good progress in their studies!

Leave a Reply

