My February 2008 bar prep strategy

For the February 2008 bar exam, I used most of the same strategies I used for the July 2007 CO bar exam that I ended up passing. I posted my study strategies last fall after CO bar results came out – the links are below:

How I studied for the MBE

How I studied for the MPT

How I studied for the Colorado bar essays

This time around, I kept my MBE strategy more simple. I religiously used my Strategies and Tactics for the MBE book by Kimm Walton and Steve Emanuel (as in the Emanuel outlines from law school). I CANNOT say enough about how wonderful and invaluable this book is. I ordered it before the July 2007 CO bar exam and I honestly and sincerely believe this book played a large part on my ability to pass that bar exam as well as the February 2008 bar exam. If you only buy one bar prep book, buy this one. I’m not kidding. Screw the BarBri, MicroMash, and PMBR books. I had all those books, but I ignored them and exclusively used the S&T book. I stuck Post-It notes in the practice question sections with the question numbers written on the Post-its so I could just write my answers on them without having to drag out a notebook (and going back and forth between the S&T book and a notebook). I need to take a picture of my S&T book sometime to illustrate my point.

I also used my Study Group MBE software and BarBri StudySmart MBE software. I also have MicroMash, but I did maybe a total of five questions on that software before abandoning it in favor of BarBri and Study Group. My favorite MBE software is Study Group, hands down. It’s much easier to use, and even better it does not require any installation so you can put the software on a flash USB drive and plug it into your work computer, then run the software off there. There are also internet-based MBE software such as AdaptiBar but I can’t vouch for how effective they are. AdaptiBar uses actual, released MBE questions but so does the S&T book, so if you’re buying that book I probably wouldn’t get AdaptiBar. I used NCBE’s MBE Annotated Preview 2006 and I would recommend it – it’s only $26.00.

I also used Google Documents (through my gmail.com account) to type out the answer explanations to each MBE questions as I discussed in my “How I studied for the MBE” post above. This has proved to be VERY helpful and I strongly recommend that you either write or type out the answer explanations to your practice MBE questions. I saw a huge difference the next time I took the MBE after doing this. I would not even have finished reading the MBE question before law points and elements and such were already popping into my head, and I already knew the answer before I even read the answer choices. The first two times I took the MBE I was absolutely lost and clueless. I did not feel that way on the last two MBEs. Yes, they were still hard and difficult, but I think the difficulty for me was trying to remember exactly what the law was, or what the elements were.

I aimed for at least 25 practice MBE questions a day but didn’t always succeed. However I always focused on the answer explanations. I found that those were the most important part of each practice MBE question. You definitely have to understand WHY a specific answer is the correct (or wrong) answer. Don’t make the same mistake I did before my second bar exam failure of focusing on quantity over quality – I had aimed for 100 questions per day or around that, mindlessly answering questions thinking that practice made perfect, even though I was not focusing on the law or the answer explanations behind the question. BIG mistake. My MBE went down TEN points from my first attempt. If I hadn’t made that mistake, I believe I could have passed on my second attempt.

I focused on my MBE outlines as well. I ignored the Convisers this time around because I’d already incorporated most of the Convisers into my MBE outlines. They are not overly long or complicated. To me, they were short, to the point, and easy to understand and follow. I would refer to those outlines if I was stumped on a practice MBE question. I received these outlines from a friend, and I liked the format and layout of the outlines so much I made my own, using those outlines and verifying them with Convisers, as well as plugging in new stuff. I was going to post them on here, but Google Documents kept screwing up the format, so you can e-mail me at frustratedbarexaminee@gmail.com to get the outlines. You can use the same format of these outlines to make your own state-specific outlines like I did for the essay portion of the last bar exam.

As for the MPT, despite my vowing to pay more attention to the MPT this time around, I still didn’t spend much time on it. I didn’t review past MPTs and scoresheets like I’d planned. I like to think that I’m a pretty good writer, and it doesn’t hurt that I write memos and draft orders in my job almost every single day, so I felt I had a good handle on the MPT. I re-read my favorite MPT link, How to Format Legal Memos on the MPT by Dr. Mary Campbell Gallagher of BarWrite Blog. I also read BarBri’s MPT Workbook but it didn’t really seem all that helpful to me. Too many complicated formats such as wills, et cetera. It seems that most of my MPTs except one were in memo format, and I think that the one non-memo MPT was a brief? My personal MPT motto was when in doubt, IRAC.

As for the essays – if you’re taking CO, refer to my “How I studied for the Colorado bar essays” post above. I don’t think my study strategy for the essay portion of the February bar exam here was that great. I just obtained released bar essays from the bar association and practiced over and over. It was hard to put together boilerplates or cheat sheets because the essays here are analytical rather than checklist-style like Colorado. I also made my own state-specific outlines using the same format as the MBE outlines, and that helped me learn the state material. I guess I didn’t exactly bomb the essays if I passed, but I also don’t feel that I should offer advice on this front. I truly got lucky on this part. I can only tell you what I did.

In short, here is my MBE strategy:
1) Use the ENTIRE S&T book. Use Post-It notes throughout the practice question and simulated MBE sections of the S&T book.

2) Use MBE software.

3) Use NCBE’s MBE Annotated Preview 2006.

4) Use Google Documents to type out answer explanations to practice MBE questions.

5) Shoot for 25 practice MBE questions a day. Focus on QUALITY over quantity (i.e. don’t just mindlessly answer 100 MBE questions a day). Do a couple of full-length (or even half-length) practice MBEs in the last couple of weeks before the bar exam.

6) Use my own MBE outlines. You can either just use them or type them out yourself. I found that typing out my outlines again really helped me to remember the material better than if I’d just skimmed them.

13 thoughts on “My February 2008 bar prep strategy

  1. legis

    Absolutely invaluable advice. Once again, congratulations on passing the bar exam. You’ve got this whole studying for the bar exam thing licked.

    Reply
  2. Blawgin

    Thanks for the congrats!! CONGRATS again to you too! God, it’s the most incredible feeling, isn’t it?? I hope all is well with you (how could it not be?)…keep me posted!

    Reply
  3. daisytoyou

    I used Emmanuel & Walton’s Strategies and Tactics for my second bar exam, too (getting a 144 after a 116 in July 2007). I concur with it being a fantastic book. However, I’m taking a third bar exam this summer (2008 – yes, I am a glutton for punishment, as I’ve already passed the exam in two states), and I wonder two things:
    1) Did re-working the S&T book help you, do you think? I made my own outlines from their outlines and did every single practice question last time. Did you do all the practice questions again, basically? I worry about not seeing “new” material, but then again I think – when it’s not broke, don’t fix it. If I rework the same questions, I’ll still be refreshing the same law, I imagine.
    2) Where do you get MBE study software? Did you buy the BarBri course, or did you get it from someone else (either in person or online)?

    Thanks!

    Reply
    1. Davis

      You should try “MBE 101″ for iPhone and iPad. It has good quality practice questions that you can do anywhere you go. You can find it on the App Store.

      Reply
  4. DCBarTaker

    The link to the “How to format legal memos” (“http://bigcitiesbigboxes.typepad.com/barwrite_blog/2007/04/how_to_format_l.html”) is not working… Do you have this saved somewhere or another url? Thanks!

    Reply
  5. jenny7111

    I would really love to see your outlines that you used to pass the bar. Its interesting how you incorporated the released answers with the score sheets and made checklists. Can you PLEASE email them to me. I tried sending you an email earlier today, but not sure if you recieved it. Just in case my email is Jenny7111@aol.com

    Reply
  6. Sarah

    I am retaking in February and following your advice about doing fewer multis a day. For July, I did too many, I think, but I did not write out answers. I missed it in NC by 1 point! MBE scaled was 138, so I am focusing more on essays this time. I do not want to take it another time.

    Thanks for the advice!

    Reply
  7. Susan

    Thanks for the advice. I understand there is a new S&T book for 2008 that is about to be released and I want to buy it for the July, 2009 bar. You’re suggestions are great. I would also love to see your outlines if you still have them. My email is sbj215@verizon.net

    Reply
  8. Dan

    Great insight and advice. I’ve been reading this blog and am hoping that someone might be able to assist me. I am in dire need of BarBri MBE outlines for the July 2009 Bar exam. I’m currently taking the BarBri Home Study course (while living here in Louisiana) for the DC bar exam in July 2009. Unfortunately, the day that I was to begin my first Pace lecture/schedule (i.e., the study schedule BarBri wants its students to follow) on the iPod, my mom was diagnosed with inoperable cancer and has since moved in w/ me, a single guy. My whole family is devastated.. but that’s beside the point. The point is—- is that I’m diligently trying to catch up on sitting through these iPod lectures (am about 4 lectures behind) and haven’t had time to summarize my notes from the lectures into outline form to use as study outlines once crunch time gets here.

    Does anyone have any BarBri outlines that might be willing to share so that I can edit to use so that I won’t have to create these from scratch? Any help anyone reading this can render will be wholeheartedly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

    Best regards,

    Dan Gunnells
    dgunnells@gmail.com

    Reply
  9. Pingback: Strategies and Tactics for the Multistate Bar Exam | Test Prep Books

  10. Robert

    So I just took the CO bar exam and I forgot to do the AM PT – just completely forgot it! Am I totally screwed? I know it’s worth 10% of the entire exam and PTs are easy points! I know I did well on the AM essays and I did well on two PM essays, okay on one, sort of crappy on one, and okay on the PM PT. I also suspect I crushed the MBEs (I studied the MBE portion like crazy since the MBE section is worth 50% of the CO bar). So what does everyone think? Will forgetting to do a PT kill my chances or can you recover from that with a slam dunk on the MBEs (130-140 raw)?

    Reply
  11. Pingback: How to get a 4.0 GPA

Leave a Reply

